Basketball Wall Street: “McDonald’s All-American Game Committee”


Basketball Wall Street: “McDonald’s All-American Game Rundown”

unnamed - 2019-12-03T165016.482

The McDonald’s All-American Game is the most prestigious high school basketball event due to all of the great players that have participated in the game. The committee that votes for the game are made up of scouts, newspaper journalists, coaches, and program directors from across the country. The committee list provided in this piece was obtained from the MAAG administrator, Teri Lynn Wooten in 2015. Recent attempts have been made to access a current list, but those actions have fallen on deaf ears. The main gripes about the girl’s MAAG selection committee are the continued use of excessive nepotism. Others have made strong allegations in the past about members using block voting tactics. Moreover, many individuals think John Lucas shouldn’t have a vote due to the fact that he does not see enough prospects play, therefore his selection may not be accurate coming from a small pool of players that attend his camp. And, that Lucas is not fully invested in girl’s basketball, but more deeply rooted on the boy’s side. One solution that should be implemented is a rule where only one MAAG committee member per organization is allowed to vote. This would alleviate any conflicts of interest or unfair and conniving actions, to give each student-athlete a fair shot. Most recently, in December of 2017 two voting committee members were added. Mark Williams and Shane Laflin, both came in under the umbrella of  Joey Simmons. Simmons, is the front-man of the Premier Basketball Report, which is big in the state of Texas.

McDonald’s Game Snub

To provide a little bit of history, one of the worst McDonald’s All-American Game snubs involved Pennsylvania native Alyssa Thomas. The Central Dauphin High School, class of 2010 standout went onto to play at Maryland as a 6-foot-2 versatile, hybrid-forward. In College Park, Thomas, lead the team in scoring as a freshman at a 14.5-PPG clip and was an All ACC 2nd Team selection. She also won the Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year honors three seasons in a row, from sophomore year to senior year. Thomas, did not play for a major AAU team, she played for the Central Pennsylvania Elite program, coached by her mother Tina. This among other things could have prevented her from making the team. “The most ferocious competitor I’ve ever coached. I knew the first time I saw her when I recruited her that she had a chance to be an All-American. Seeing her smile on the court is one of the best sights.  Alyssa plays with a passion that very few can match. Not only that, she demands the people around her get better.” Said Brenda Frese, head coach at The University of Maryland.

2010 East Coast McDonald’s All-American Roster

Haley Peters 6-3 (F) Peddie School (NJ)
Stephanie Dolson 6-5 (P) Minisink Valley (NY)
Alicia Devaughn 6-4 (P) Blanche Ely (FL)
Nastasha Howard 6-4 (F) Waite (OH)
Samarie Walker 6-1 (W) Chaminade-Julienne (OH)
Bria Hartley 5-9 (G) North Babylon (NY)
Lauren Mincy 6-0 (G) University (NJ)
Kaniesha Horn 6-1 (G) Ramsay (AL)
Maggie Lucas 5-10 (G) Germantown Academy (PA)
Kayla McBride 5-11 (G) Villa Maria Academy (PA)
Ronika Ransford 5-8 (G) H.D. Woodson (DC)
Jennifer O’Neil 5-7 (G) St Michael’s Academy (NY)

unnamed (49)

The McDonald’s All-American Game criteria:

Athletic Achievement

  • Players accomplishments on the hardwood
  • High school career: All evaluations and nominations are based on the individual player’s fundamental skill level and athleticism.
  • Players Accolades

McDonald’s All-American Voting Committee Members

Joey Simmons: Premier Basketball
Mark Williams: Premier Basketball
Shane Laflin: Premier Basketball
Carl Tinsley: End of Trail-Oregon
Kelvin Powell: Round Ball Academy-FL
Carroll Graham: AAU Girls Basketball Chair
Aggie McCormick-Dix: Fairfax Stars
Steve Tucker: Chicago Sun-Times
Chris Hansen: Prospects Nation-CA
Brandon Clay: Prospects Nation-GA
Mike White: All Star Girls Report
Mike Flynn: Blue Star/USJN
Kevin Lynch: Blue Star/ Philly Belles-PA
Chris Lawlor: Blue Star
Mark Lewis : Blue Star-OH
Chris Menning: Blue Star/USJN
Boo Williams: Boo Williams Summer League-VA
John Lucas: John Lucas Enterprises-TX
Beth Bass: Women’s Basketball Coaching Association
Mary Coyle Klinger: Rutgers Prep-(NJ)/WBCA
Steve Kozaki: National Basketball Events/ Nike TOC-AZ
Jerry Gatewood: Next Level Sports/Reebok Grassroots
Clay Kallam: MaxPreps-CA
Brent McCormick: All Star Girls Report
John Rhodes: Beach Ball Classic and Holiday Invitational

John Rhodes, John Lucas and Boo Williams sit on both the girls and boys basketball voting committee’s

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s